National Society of Newspaper Columnists
Roger Ebert's award was announced Saturday (fours days after he started the "Friends don't let jackasses drink and drive" brouhaha) at the National Society of Newspaper Columnist's 35th annual conference in Detroit. The columnist group’s traditional top prize is for general-interest columns in large newspapers, and first prize this year goes to Mike Kelly of The Record of Bergen County, N.J. The judges said: “These are what metro columns should be: elegantly written, with a clear point of view, but — above all — well-reported.” || July 2010: Ebert wins top blogger award and is praised for "his humanity and sense of his mortality, and the clarity and depth with which he writes about each subject.”
> What's the best newspaper column of all time?