Society of Environmental Journalists
The Society of Environmental Journalists has named 18 winners of the 2010-2011 Awards for Reporting on the Environment. The contest is the world's largest and most comprehensive awards for journalism on environmental topics. (There were 207 entries this year.) The first place winners are:

Kevin Carmody Award for Outstanding In-depth Reporting, Large Market
“The True Story Behind the Oil Spill” by Abrahm Lustgarten, Journalist, ProPublica, with independent producers Martin Smith, Marcela Gaviria and Ryan Knutson for PBS Frontline.

Kevin Carmody Award for Outstanding In-depth Reporting, Small Market
“Chinese Drywall: Why one of the biggest defective product investigations in U.S. history has left homeowners struggling for help” by Joaquin Sapien, Reporter, ProPublica; Aaron Kessler, Reporter, Sarasota Herald-Tribune; and Jeff Larson, News Applications Developer, ProPublica.

Outstanding Beat Reporting, Large Market
“BP Oil Spill Coverage” by Josh Harkinson, Mac McClelland, Kate Sheppard, Julia Whitty, for Mother Jones.

Outstanding Beat Reporting, Small Market
“Reporting on the BP Oil Spill” by David Hammer, Staff Writer, The Times-Picayune.

Outstanding Single Story
“In Middle East, Coalition Aims to Ease Tension Over Water Resources” by Fred de Sam Lazaro, Correspondent; Nicole See, Producer/Editor; Tom Adair, Videographer; and Patti Parson, Managing Producer; PBS Newshour.

Rachel Carson Environment Book Award
Shell Games: Rogues, Smugglers, and the Hunt for Nature's Bounty by Craig Allen Welch
William Morrow (New York, 2010)

The judges' comments and links to the winning entries are here.