Columbia University named its 2013 Pulitzer Prize winners Monday. Roy J. Harris Jr. wrote about what to watch for before the prizes, and Roy Peter Clark wrote about the Poynter-owned Tampa Bay Times' win.

Public Service

Breaking News Reporting

Investigative Reporting

Explanatory Reporting

  • The New York Times Staff
  • Finalists: Dan Egan (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel) | Tony Bartelme (The Post and Courier, Charleston, S.C.)

Local Reporting

  • Star Tribune | The Star Tribune's story about its wins
  • Finalists: Ames Alexander and Karen Garloch (The Charlotte Observer) | Joseph Neff and David Raynor (The News and Observer) | David Breen, Stephen Hudak, Jeff Kunerth and Denise-Marie Ordway (Orlando Sentinel)

National Reporting

International Reporting

Feature Writing

  • John Branch, New York Times
  • Finalists: Kelley Benham (Tampa Bay Times) | Eli Saslow (The Washington Post)



Editorial Writing

Poynter owns the Tampa Bay Times

Editorial Cartooning

Breaking News Photography

Feature Photography