The International Fact-Checking Network (IFCN) at Poynter is committed to promoting excellence in fact-checking. We believe nonpartisan and transparent fact-checking can be a powerful instrument of accountability journalism; conversely, unsourced or biased fact-checking can increase distrust in the media and experts while polluting public understanding.

The following document is the result of consultations among fact-checkers from around the world. It offers conscientious practitioners principles to aspire to in their everyday work.

  1. A COMMITMENT TO NONPARTISANSHIP AND FAIRNESS
    We fact-check claims using the same standard for every fact check. We do not concentrate our fact-checking on any one side. We follow the same process for every fact check and let the evidence dictate our conclusions. We do not advocate or take policy positions on the issues we fact-check.
  2. A COMMITMENT TO TRANSPARENCY OF SOURCES
    We want our readers to be able to verify our findings themselves. We provide all sources in enough detail that readers can replicate our work, except in cases where a source’s personal security could be compromised. In such cases, we provide as much detail as possible.
  3. A COMMITMENT TO TRANSPARENCY OF FUNDING & ORGANIZATION
    We are transparent about our funding sources. If we accept funding from other organizations, we ensure that funders have no influence over the conclusions we reach in our reports. We detail the professional background of all key figures in our organization and explain our organizational structure and legal status. We clearly indicate a way for readers to communicate with us.
  4. A COMMITMENT TO TRANSPARENCY OF METHODOLOGY
    We explain the methodology we use to select, research, write, edit, publish and correct our fact checks. We encourage readers to send us claims to fact-check and are transparent on why and how we fact-check.
  5. A COMMITMENT TO OPEN AND HONEST CORRECTIONS
    We publish our corrections policy and follow it scrupulously. We correct clearly and transparently in line with our corrections policy, seeking so far as possible to ensure that readers see the corrected version.

By signing up to this code of principles, the fact-checking initiatives agree to produce a public report indicating how they have lived up to each of the five principles within a year from their signature, and once a year thereafter. The report will allow readers and others to judge to what extent the fact-checker is respecting the code of principles and will be linked to from this page.

Being a signatory to this code of principles and publishing a report in no way implies an endorsement from Poynter's IFCN or any of its members.

The signatories of the code on September 15th are listed below. If you want to add your organization to the list — or believe one of these organizations isn't respecting the code — reach out to factchecknet@poynter.org

  1. Africa Check (South Africa, Senegal and Kenya - https://africacheck.org/)
  2. Agência Lupa (Brazil - http://www.lupa.news/)
  3. Agência Pública - Truco (Brazil - http://apublica.org/truco) Added Sept. 16th
  4. Aos Fatos (Brazil - http://aosfatos.org/)
  5. Balkan Investigative Reporting Network Kosovo (Kosovo - http://birn.eu.com/en/network/birn-kosovo-home)
  6. Chequeado (Argentina - http://chequeado.com/)
  7. Demagog CZ (Czech Republic - http://demagog.cz/)
  8. Demagog PL  (Poland - http://demagog.org.pl/)
  9. Doğruluk Payı (Turkey - http://www.dogrulukpayi.com/)
  10. El Deber Data (Bolivia - http://www.eldeber.com.bo/data)
  11. El Mercurio El Poligrafo (Chile)
  12. El Objetivo La Sexta (Spain - http://www.lasexta.com/programas/el-objetivo/prueba-verificacion/)
  13. Factcheck.org (USA - http://www.factcheck.org/)
  14. FactCheck Georgia (Georgia - http://factcheck.ge/)
  15. FactCheck Northern Ireland (UK - http://www.factcheckni.org/)
  16. FactCheck-Ukraine (Ukraine - http://www.factcheck.com.ua/)
  17. FactChecker.in (India - http://factchecker.in/)
  18. FactsCan (Canada - http://factscan.ca/)
  19. Faktabaari (Finland - http://faktabaari.fi/)
  20. Full Fact (UK - https://fullfact.org/)
  21. GKillCity.com (Ecuador - http://gkillcity.com/)
  22. Internews Kosova (Kosovo - http://www.internewskosova.org/)
  23. Istinomer (Serbia - http://istinomer.rs/)
  24. Metamorphosis Foundation (Macedonia - http://proverkanafakti.mk/)
  25. Observador (Portugal - http://observador.pt/seccao/observador/fact-check/)
  26. Ojo Publico (Peru - http://ojo-publico.com/ojobionico)
  27. Pagella Politica (Italy - http://pagellapolitica.it/)
  28. Pesa Check (Kenya - https://pesacheck.org/)
  29. PolitiFact (USA - http://politifact.com/)
  30. Snopes (USA - http://snopes.com/)
  31. South Asia Check (Nepal - http://southasiacheck.org/)
  32. TheJournal.ie (Ireland - http://www.thejournal.ie/fact-check/news/)
  33. UY Check (Uruguay - http://uycheck.com/noticias/)
  34. Valheenpaljastaja (Finland - http://yle.fi/aihe/kategoria/kuningaskuluttaja/valheenpaljastaja)
  35. VERA Files Fact Check (Philippines - http://verafiles.org/category/fact-check/) Added Sept. 19th
  36. VoxUkraine (Ukraine - http://voxukraine.org/category/voxcheck-en/)
  37. The Washington Post Fact Checker (USA - https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/fact-checker/)
  38. Zašto ne Istinomjer (Bosnia & Herzegovina - http://istinomjer.ba/)