How the AP will cover the Royal Wedding

Romenesko Memos
“Friday is royal wedding day in London and our report will look a little different,” says a memo to Associated Press members. “The Associated Press will be alerting every development, running live video in SD and HD, tweeting and posting on Facebook, updating a multifaceted interactive, sending four radio packages an hour and filing hundreds of photographs from key vantage points.

Reporters, producers, photographers and video journalists will be tweeting from the streets. The AP will also bring audiences behind the scenes with a look at how the AP is covering such a huge event. Follow AP staff on this list: https://twitter.com/list/AP/royal-wedding, and follow AP on Facebook: www.facebook.com/APNews

Romenesko has the full memo here.


Associated Press memo

BC-EU–Britain-Royal Wedding,Advisory
Britain Royal Wedding Advisory
The Associated Press
AP

Editors:

Friday is royal wedding day in London and our report will look a little different.

As Prince William and Kate Middleton say their vows, The Associated Press will be alerting every development, running live video in SD and HD, tweeting and posting on Facebook, updating a multifaceted interactive, sending four radio packages an hour and filing hundreds of photographs from key vantage points.

We will also be creating something new: an hours-long running account of the wedding in progress for text subscribers — a little like what we’ve done with major sporting events such as the Super Bowl and top World Cup matches. Our text coverage for the big day will be three-tiered: A minute-by-minute running account of the events, APNewsAlerts and APNewsNows when events merit, and full stories including a mainbar and sidebars.

Extended television coverage of the day’s events will be available on APTN Direct from 0600 GMT (0700 BST; 2 a.m. EDT) until 1700 GMT (1800 BST; 1 p.m. EDT).

This is a rough outline of our plans. Timing for some stories may need to be adjusted for news or competitive reasons. We will also send additional stories as news breaks.

Wednesday, April 27

ROYAL WEDDING. With AP Photos. AP Video.

ROYAL WEDDING-DRESS. With AP Photos, AP Video.

ROYAL WEDDING-AMERICAN FANS. With AP Photos, AP Video.

APTN DIRECT clients: LIVE shots from Buckingham Palace from 0655 GMT (2:55 a.m. EST) Check APTN DIRECT website for further details

Thursday, April 28

ROYAL WEDDING. AP Photos. AP Video.

ROYAL WEDDING-COSTS. Text only.

ROYAL WEDDING-WEATHER. AP Photos. No Video

ROYAL WEDDING-GORING HOTEL. AP Photos. AP Video.

ROYAL WEDDING-Fashion.

APTN DIRECT clients: LIVE shots from Buckingham Palace from 0500 GMT (1 a.m. EST) Check APTN DIRECT website for further details

The following have already moved and will be repeated Thursday:

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-WILLIAM. AP Photos. Video UK ROYAL WILLIAM.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-KATE. AP Photos. Video UK ROYAL KATE.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-TIMELINE. AP Photos. Video UK ROYAL ROMANCE.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-CARRIAGE. AP Photos. Video UK ROYAL COACH.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-BRIDESMAIDS. AP Photos. Video UK ROYAL KATE.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-MIDDLETONS. AP Photos. Video UK KATE MINER.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-TIMINGS. Text only.

Friday, April 29, DAY OF THE WEDDING:

Story plans:

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING. With AP Photos, AP Video.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-RUNNING.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-DRESS. AP Photos. AP Video.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-TITLES. Text only.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-FASHION. AP Photos.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-SECURITY. AP Photos, AP Video

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-WORLD. AP Photos. AP Video

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-US. AP Photos. AP Video.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-PARTIES. AP Photos. AP Video.

—BRITAIN-ROYAL WEDDING-GUESTS. AP Photos. AP Video

— APTN DIRECT clients: LIVE shots from Buckingham Palace from 0400 GMT (midnight EST) Check APTN DIRECT website for further details.

Schedule of events:

— 0815 BST (0715 GMT; 3:15 a.m. EDT) — Guests begin arriving at the Great North Door of London’s Westminster Abbey.

— 0950 BST (0850 GMT; 4:50 a.m. EDT) — Governors-general and prime ministers of realm countries, the diplomatic corps, and other distinguished guests arrive at the Abbey.

— 1010 BST (0910 GMT; 5:10 a.m. EDT) — Prince William and Prince Harry leave Clarence House for Westminster Abbey.

— 1015 BST (0915 GMT; 5:15 a.m. EDT) — The princes arrive at Westminster Abbey.

— 1020 BST (0920 GMT; 5:20 a.m. EDT) — Members of foreign royal families arrive at Westminster Abbey from Buckingham Palace.

— 1027 BST (0927 GMT; 5:27 a.m. EDT) — Middleton’s mother, Carole, and brother, James, arrive at the Abbey.

— 1030 BST (0930 GMT; 5:30 a.m. EDT) — Select members of Britain’s royal family arrive at the Abbey.

— 1040 BST (0940 GMT; 5:40 a.m. EDT) — Queen Elizabeth II and her husband, Prince Philip, leave Buckingham Palace for the Abbey as Prince Andrew and daughters Princess Beatrice, Princess Eugenie; Prince Edward and his wife, Sophie; Princess Anne and her husband Timothy Laurence arrive for the ceremony.

— 1042 BST (0942 GMT; 5:42 a.m. EDT) — Prince Charles and his wife, Camilla, arrive at the Abbey from Clarence House.

— 1045 BST (0945 GMT; 5:45 a.m. EDT) — The queen and Prince Philip arrive at the Abbey.

— 1051 BST (0951 GMT; 5:51 a.m. EDT) — The bride, accompanied by her father, Michael, leaves the Goring Hotel for the Abbey.

— 1055 BST (0955 GMT; 5:55 a.m. EDT) — Bridesmaids and pages arrive at the Abbey from the Goring Hotel.

— around 1100 BST (1000 GMT; 6:00 a.m. EDT) — The bride arrives. Marriage ceremony, which will be relayed on audio speakers along the wedding route, begins.

— 1215 BST (1115 GMT; 7:15 a.m. EDT) — William and his new wife emerge from the Abbey and depart in the 1902 State Landau, a carriage, and travel to Buckingham Palace, followed by the queen.

— 1230 BST (1130 GMT; 7:30 a.m. EDT) — The bride’s carriage procession arrives at Buckingham Palace, followed by members of Britain’s royal family and other foreign royals 10 minutes later.

— 1240 BST (1140 GMT; 7:40 a.m. EDT) — Guests for the wedding reception arrive at Buckingham Palace.

— 1325 BST (1225 GMT; 8:25 a.m. EDT) — William and Middleton, accompanied by the queen and their families, appear on the balcony of Buckingham Palace.

— 1330 BST (1230 GMT; 8:30 a.m. EDT) — The royals watch a ceremonial flypast from the Royal Air Force and Battle of Britain Memorial Flight before returning inside for the queen’s reception for some 600 guests.

— 1800 BST (1700GMT; 1 p.m. EDT) — Private reception begins at Buckingham Palace for 300 guests.

Additional television information:

APTN has negotiated rights to provide LIVE broadcast coverage of the wedding. This content will benefit existing Global Video Wire (GVW) news clients and APTN Direct.

The news service of the APTN Global Video Wire will carry two hours of LIVE Standard Definition (SD) coverage from Westminster Abbey where the ceremony takes place. This transmission will run from 0930 GMT until 1130 GMT. We will return to the live signal at around 1210-1235 GMT for the balcony kiss and flypast.

Several regular feeds are being moved to accommodate this LIVE coverage – please see later advisories regarding these feed time changes.

Please note – The Royal Wedding LIVE feed will be NO ACCESS UK/BLOOMBERG/AL JAZEERA.

APTN Direct Customers will be provided with a full day of LIVE coverage in Standard Definition from 0600 GMT until approximately 1700 GMT which will include beauty shots and crowds gathering at Buckingham Palace, the journey to and from Westminster Abbey and the newlyweds much anticipated kiss on the Palace balcony. Clients who are not currently APTN Direct subscribers who wish to receive this service should contact their regional sales executive.

In addition, APTN will be providing a High Definition 7 hour continuous LIVE video feed of the wedding day from 0600 GMT until 1300 GMT. The HD feed will be available on April 29 on a network of satellites including W2A (Europe), Asiasat 5 (Asia) and Intelsat 805 (Americas). Any APTN customer in the Americas wishing to receive the Royal Wedding in HD should contact their regional sales executive. Customers in all other regions should contact the APTN Client Liaison desk on +44 207 482 7600 or email tvnews@ap.org. Clients will need to supply their own HD decoder and downlink facilities to receive this HD transmission.

At 1000 BST (0900 GMT; 5:00 a.m. EDT) there will be a fully produced Royal Wedding show broadcast live on LiveStream.com. This hosted program includes feeds/footage as well as royal experts and crowd reaction from Times Square and throughout London. Former BBC Royal Correspondent Jennie Bond will provide expert comment for AP.

AP Radio will have correspondents across London and provide four updates per hour in addition to live coverage in its regular newscasts at the top and bottom of the hour.

AP journalists will also be tweeting in the build-up to and throughout the royal wedding day. Follow our flagship Twitter and Facebook accounts as AP journalists use social media during the big day. Reporters, producers, photographers and video journalists will be tweeting from the streets. The AP will also bring audiences behind the scenes with a look at how the AP is covering such a huge event. Follow AP staff on this list: https://twitter.com/list/AP/royal-wedding, and follow AP on Facebook: www.facebook.com/APNews

AP Interactives will add an audio slideshow on Kate’s dress to the existing interactive on the day of the wedding. The interactive already includes Twitter updates from AP journalists covering the wedding, and that feed will continue on the wedding day. Other features include a map of the procession route, a video animation explaining the succession to the British throne and info on the royal family. It is available at: http://hosted.ap.org/specials/interactives/_international/royal-wedding

For questions about coverage or issues on the day: In the United States, please contact the AP’s nerve center at its headquarters on (212) 621-1600. In Europe and elsewhere, please contact AP’s Editorial Customer Support team at +44 207 482 7600 or the Europe Desk at 44-207-427-4300.

The AP

We have made it easy to comment on posts, however we require civility and encourage full names to that end (first initial, last name is OK). Please read our guidelines here before commenting.

  • http://twitter.com/emocobra666 geoffrey stafford

    Another new lyric video from Sky Ferreira: http://t.co/S3BS57l