Religion Newswriters Association announces contest winners

Romenesko+ Misc.
Michelle Boorstein won the large newspaper reporting award for the Washington Post, while Tim Townsend of St. Louis Post-Dispatch won the metro newspaper reporter of the year award. The Washington Post’s William Wan won first-place in the Supple Religion Writer of the Year competition, and the Religion Commentary of the Year award went to Kay Campbell of The Huntsville Times. The full list of winners is after the jump.

Press release

Religion Newswriters Association honors top religion reporting

DURHAM — Religion reporters from across the country won top honors Saturday (Sept. 17) at the 2011 Religion Newswriters Association’s annual awards competition.

Michelle Boorstein won the large newspaper reporting award for The Washington Post, followed by the The New York Time’s Laurie Goodstein and Adelle Banks of the Religion News Service.

Tim Townsend of St. Louis Post-Dispatch won the metro newspaper reporter of the year award, followed by Tim Funk of The Charlotte Observer and Michelle Bearden of The Tampa Tribune.

The Cornell Religion Reporter of the Year award for mid-sized newspapers went to Bob Smietana of the The Tennessean in Nashville, followed by Peggy Fletcher Stack of The Salt Lake Tribune, Kristen Moulton of The Salt Lake Tribune and honorable mentions to David Yonke of The (Toledo) Blade and freelancer Rasha Elass.

In the Cassels Religion Reporter of the Year contest for small newspapers, first place went to Melissa Burke of the York (Pa.) Daily Record, followed by Brett Buckner of Anniston (Ala.) Star, Tracy O’Shaughnessy of Republican American in Waterbury, Conn. and Amy Umble of The (Fredericksburg) Free Lance-Star (honorable mention).

William Wan of The Washington Post won first-place in the Supple Religion Writer of the Year award, followed by Laurie Goodstein of the The New York Times and Peggy Fletcher Stack of The Salt Lake Tribune.

The Gerald A. Renner Enterprise award went to Tony Carnes of “A Journey Through NYC Religions,” followed by Candace R. Kwiatek of The Dayton Jewish Observer and Laurie Goodstein of The New York Times.

Religion commentary of the year went to Kay Campbell of The Huntsville Times, followed by Laura Silver of The Huffington Post and Phyllis Zagano of Religion News Service.

The Schachern Award for Multimedia Reporting went to Tracy Simmons of, followed by David Noyce of The Salt Lake Tribune and Elizabeth Tenety and Sally Quinn of The Washington Post.

Moment Magazine took three of the magazine awards, placing first for religion report of the year, graphic or illustration of the year and story layout and design of the year for work done by Navid Marvi and Sarah Breger.

Sarah Pulliam Bailey of Christianity Today won overall excellence in religion coverage in the magazine category.

Awards of excellence in radio or podcast religion reporting went to Jessica Alpert and Neil Trevichick of the BBC, followed by Ron Smith of WEKU (Richmond) and Jaweed Kaleem of The Miami Herald.

The PBS program Religion & Ethics NewsWeekly swept all three television news magazine awards for work done by Fred De Sam Lazaro in first place, followed by Saul Gonzalez and Bob Abernethy.

The television national/cable news awards went to Mike O’ Sullivan of Voice of America, followed by the CNN team consisting of Eric Marrapodi, Jeremy Moorhead, and Kate Bolduan. Jerome Socolovsky of Voice of America took third.

Salme Lopez of WGBH Educational Foundation took first place in the documentary of the year award for his film, God in America. Second place went to Lee Lawrence of IHSY, LL independent film production.

The top author of non-fiction religion books was Joseph Chinnici for When Values Collide: The Catholic Church, Sexual Abuse, and the Challenges of Leadership, followed by Mary-Ann Kirkby for I Am Hutterite: The Fascinating True Story of a Young Woman’s Journey to Reclaim Her Heritage, G. Jeffrey MacDonald for Thieves in the Temple: The Christian Church and the Selling of the American Soul and honorable mentions Robert C. Sibley for A Rumour of God: Rekindling Belief in an Age of Disenchantment and David Beckmann for Exodus from Hunger: We are Called to Change the Politics of Hunger.

The Chandler Student Religion Reporter of the Year went to Paige Benton from the University of Georgia, followed by Kelsey Kastrava from Cabrini College (Radnor, PA) and Anam Ghias from the University of Houston.

We have made it easy to comment on posts, however we require civility and encourage full names to that end (first initial, last name is OK). Please read our guidelines here before commenting.

  • Trương Định

    Cẩm Thạch myanmar, Cẩm Thạch , Vòng Cẩm Thạch , Giám Định Kim Cương , Giám Định Đá Quý , Kiểm Định Kim Cương , Kiểm Định Đá Quý

    Cam Thach Myanmar , Cam Thach , Vong Cam Thach , Giam Dinh Kim Cuong , Giam Dinh Da Quy , Kiem Dinh Kim Cuong , Kiem Dinh Da Quy