ASNE names winners of its writing and photography contest

ASNE | Post-Dispatch | Boston Globe | Post and Courier
Todd C. Frankel of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch wins the American Society of Newspaper Editors’ Jesse Laventhol Prize for Deadline News Reporting by an Individual. The Jesse Laventhol Prize for Deadline News Reporting by a Team goes to the Charleston Post and Courier staff for its coverage of a sofa store fire that left nine firefighters dead. The Batten Medal goes to Boston Globe columnist Kevin Cullen, and the Miami Herald’s Leonard Pitts Jr. wins for Commentary/Column Writing. PLUS: More winners.

Get the latest media news delivered to your inbox.

Select the newsletter(s) you'd like to receive:

We have made it easy to comment on posts, however we require civility and encourage full names to that end (first initial, last name is OK). Please read our guidelines here before commenting.