Ethics symposium featuring Maria Ressa, David Folkenflik, Craig Newmark and others

May 9, 2019
Category: Ethics & Trust

Hundreds of journalists, publishers and academics are convening at the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism today for a symposium about journalism in an era of information warfare. The symposium marks the formal launch of Poynter’s Craig Newmark Center for Ethics and Leadership and Columbia’s Craig Newmark Center for Journalism Ethics and Security.

Join remotely by streaming the event on this page between 10:15 a.m. and 4 p.m. Eastern time. You can also follow #NewmarkEthics on social for more updates.

Throughout the day, you’ll hear from journalists — including Daily Beast editor Noah Shachtman, the Tow Center’s Emily Bell, NPR media correspondent and host of NPR’s “On Point David Folkenflik, and founder and CEO of Rappler Maria Ressa — about building credibility in the era of liars and leaks. You’ll learn how to dissect case studies with Poynter’s Kelly McBride and standards editors including The New York Times’ Philip Corbett. And you’ll better prepare for the future with insights from researchers, security experts and big tech companies.


SCHEDULE

10-10:15 a.m. — Welcome

10:15-10:30 a.m. — Introduction

  • Emily Bell, Director, Tow Center, @emilybell
  • Kelly McBride, Senior Vice President, Chair of the Craig Newmark Center for Ethics and Leadership, Poynter, @kellymcb
  • Kyle Pope, Editor & Publisher, Columbia Journalism Review, @kylepope

10:30-11:45 a.m. — Modeling an Emergency 
Moderator: David Folkenflik, Media Correspondent, NPR & Host, On Point, @davidfolkenflik  

  • Yasmin Green, Director of Research & Development, Jigsaw, @yasmind
  • Mathew Ingram, Chief Digital Writer, Columbia Journalism Review, @mathewi
  • Noah Shachtman, Editor-in-Chief, The Daily Beast, @NoahShachtman

11:45 a.m.-noon — Break 

12-1 p.m. — Keynote: Journalism Ethics in a Connected World
Moderator: Emily Bell, @emilybell

  • Maria Ressa, CEO & Executive Editor, Rappler, @mariaressa
  • Zeynep Tufekci, associate professor, UNC-Chapel Hill; author, “Twitter and Tear Gas: The Power and Fragility of Networked Protest,” @zeynep

1-1:15 p.m. — Break

1:15-2 p.m. — What Happens When Your Story Isn’t Believed? 
Moderator: Kyle Pope, @kylepope

  • Irin Carmon, Senior Correspondent, New York Magazine, @irin
  • Angie Drobnic Holan, Editor, PolitiFact, @AngieHolan
  • Topher Sanders, Reporter, ProPublica, @ReporterTopher

2-2:15 p.m. — Break

2:15-3 p.m. — Public Editor Roundtable: What Should Newsrooms Do?
Moderator: Kelly McBride, @kellymcb

  • Philip Corbett, Associate Managing Editor for Standards, The New York Times, @CorbettNYT
  • John Daniszewski, Vice President and Editor at Large for Standards, The Associated Press, @jdaniszewski
  • Manny Garcia, Ethics & Standards Editor for USA TODAY Network, @manny_garcia1
  • Mark Memmott, Supervising Senior Editor for Standards & Practices, NPR, @MarkMemmottNPR

3-3:10 p.m. — Break 

3:10-3:15 p.m. — Closing Remarks