Environmental journalists group names contest winners

Society of Environmental Journalists

The Society of Environmental Journalists has named 18 winners of the 2010-2011 Awards for Reporting on the Environment. The contest is the world's largest and most comprehensive awards for journalism on environmental topics. (There were 207 entries this year.) The first place winners are:

Kevin Carmody Award for Outstanding In-depth Reporting, Large Market

“The True Story Behind the Oil Spill” by Abrahm Lustgarten, Journalist, ProPublica, with independent producers Martin Smith, Marcela Gaviria and Ryan Knutson for PBS Frontline.

Kevin Carmody Award for Outstanding In-depth Reporting, Small Market

“Chinese Drywall: Why one of the biggest defective product investigations in U.S. history has left homeowners struggling for help” by Joaquin Sapien, Reporter, ProPublica; Aaron Kessler, Reporter, Sarasota Herald-Tribune; and Jeff Larson, News Applications Developer, ProPublica.

Outstanding Beat Reporting, Large Market

“BP Oil Spill Coverage” by Josh Harkinson, Mac McClelland, Kate Sheppard, Julia Whitty, for Mother Jones.

Outstanding Beat Reporting, Small Market

“Reporting on the BP Oil Spill” by David Hammer, Staff Writer, The Times-Picayune.

Outstanding Single Story

“In Middle East, Coalition Aims to Ease Tension Over Water Resources” by Fred de Sam Lazaro, Correspondent; Nicole See, Producer/Editor; Tom Adair, Videographer; and Patti Parson, Managing Producer; PBS Newshour.

Rachel Carson Environment Book Award

Shell Games: Rogues, Smugglers, and the Hunt for Nature's Bounty by Craig Allen Welch
William Morrow (New York, 2010)

The judges' comments and links to the winning entries are here.

  • Jim Romenesko

    From 1999 to 2011, Jim Romenesko maintained the Romenesko page for the Poynter Institute, a Florida-based non-profit school for journalists. Poynter hired him in August of 1999, after seeing his MediaGossip.com, a hobby site he started in May of 1999.


Related News

Email IconGroup 3Facebook IconLinkedIn IconsearchGroupTwitter IconGroup 2YouTube Icon