Networks call election for President Obama before 11:30 p.m.

It turns out it wasn't such a long night after all. By 11:18 p.m. -- without final numbers from Florida or Virginia -- President Obama was declared the winner, re-elected for a second term with Ohio carrying him over 270 electoral votes. NBC and Fox News called the election earliest, followed by CNN. The Associated Press called the race a bit later, around 11:38 p.m.

The announcements on Twitter appear in chronological order below, but the tweets did not necessarily follow the same order as the on-air calls.

A time lapse shows The New York Times tracking of pundit calls.


Related News

Email IconGroup 3Facebook IconLinkedIn IconsearchGroupTwitter IconGroup 2YouTube Icon