NPPA names Best of Photojournalism award winners


NPPA has announced the still photography winners of its Best of Photojournalism contest. The Virginian-Pilot's Ross Taylor was named Photojournalist of the Year for large markets. Dave Weatherwax, chief photographer at The Herald in Jasper, Ind., won the award for papers with circulation under 100,000. (With a circulation of 11,300, The Herald certainly qualifies.)

Brad Vest won the Cliff Edom "New America Award" for community journalism; last fall he was named College Photographer of the Year. He did an internship at The Virginian-Pilot last year.

Winners in a few other categories:

NPPA has the full list of winners, runners-up and honorable mentions for the 30 or so categories.

  • Steve Myers

    Steve Myers was the managing editor of until August 2012, when he became the deputy managing editor and senior staff writer for The Lens, a nonprofit investigative news site in New Orleans.


Related News

Email IconGroup 3Facebook IconLinkedIn IconsearchGroupTwitter IconGroup 2YouTube Icon