Peabody Award winners announced

CBS News | Peabody Awards

Winners of the 73rd annual Peabody Awards were announced early Wednesday morning and include WBZ-TV and WBZ Newsradio 1030 in Boston for coverage of the Boston Marathon bombings.

Out in force to cover the annual marathon, both WBZ-TV and Newsradio 1030 had a journalistic advantage when the bombs detonated. Neither gave it up as their reporters spent hour after hour on the air providing wide-ranging, enterprising, non-sensational coverage of the casualties, the suspects and the intense, nerve-wracking manhunt. They become crucial sources not just to their city but to a stunned nation.

Other winners include "Fault Lines," from Al Jazeera America, which told the story of a garment factory fire in Bangladesh; "The Race Card Project" from NPR's Morning Edition; and "180 Days: A Year Inside an American High School," from PBS. Projects from NBC News, This American Life, BBC and FRONTLINE won awards, as did "Breaking Bad," "House of Cards" and "Scandal."

This year's personal award goes to Tom Brokaw. The Peabody Awards ceremony takes place May 19 and will be hosted by This American Life's Ira Glass. Check here for a complete list of winners.

In 2013, Poynter reported that SCOTUSblog won an award, marking the first time a blog won a Peabody. This year, Samantha Stendal and Aaron Blanton won for their 25-second YouTube video, "A Needed Response." From the judges: "Short, simple and spot-on in its critique of rape culture, the ingenious PSA by two University of Oregon students takes just 25 seconds to make its point that real men treat women with respect."


Related News

Email IconGroup 3Facebook IconLinkedIn IconsearchGroupTwitter IconGroup 2YouTube Icon