Poynter announces additions to National Advisory Board

Poynter on Tuesday announced six new additions to its National Advisory board, the group of journalists who help the institute fulfill its mission of advancing journalism around the world.

They are:

— Audrey Cooper, editor in chief of The San Francisco Chronicle
— John Dickerson, host of "Face the Nation" on CBS News
— Jon Funabiki, executive director of Renaissance Journalism at San Francisco State University
— Mi-Ai Parrish, the publisher of the Arizona Republic
— Mitra Kalita, vice president of digital programming at CNN
— Wesley Lowery, Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter at The Washington Post

In a statement, Poynter President Tim Franklin said the new additions will bring "unique insight and knowledge to the Institute."

"They will be invaluable partners for Poynter as we work to elevate journalism and the people it serves," Franklin said.

Poynter's National Advisory Board meets in St. Petersburg, Florida annually and conducts an intensive, multi-day review of the Institute's policies and practices. They consult with the entire staff and produce a report that serves as a roadmap for the upcoming year.

Other board members include New York Times Deputy Publisher Arthur Gregg Sulzberger, Vox Media Publisher Melissa Bell and Callie Schweitzer, the managing editor of Thrive Global.

Today's additions replace six outgoing board members, including Spirited Media CEO Jim Brady, Walter Cronkite School Dean Chris Callahan, New York Times Chicago Bureau Chief Monica Davey, Bankrate Chief Content Officer Lou Ferrara, South by Southwest Interactive Festival Director Hugh Forrest and Ju-Don Marshall Roberts, a digital media strategist and startup adviser.

  • Profile picture for user bmullin

    Benjamin Mullin

    Benjamin Mullin is the managing editor of Poynter.org. He previously reported for Poynter as a staff writer, Google Journalism Fellow and Naughton Fellow, covering journalism innovation, business practices and ethics.


Related News

Email IconGroup 3Facebook IconLinkedIn IconsearchGroupTwitter IconGroup 2YouTube Icon