Scripps Howard Awards announced

On Monday, The Scripps Howard Foundation announced winners and finalists in their annual awards "honoring the best work in the communications industry and journalism education in 2013."

Winners include:

-- Breaking News Award: The Arizona Republic for “Yarnell Hill Fire,” $10,000.

-- The Ernie Pyle Award: Andrea Elliott, The New York Times, for “Invisible Child," $10,000.

-- Roy W. Howard Award for Public Service Reporting: The Guardian US for "The NSA Files," $10,000.

-- Ursula and Gilbert Farfel Prize for Investigative Reporting: The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel for "Deadly Delays,” $20,000.

-- Edward Willis Scripps Award for Distinguished Service to the First Amendment: The Better Government Association, $10,000.

-- Digital Innovation Award: NPR’s Planet Money for “Planet Money Makes a T-Shirt,” $10,000.

-- Jack R. Howard Award for Television/Cable In-Depth Local Coverage: KARE-TV, Minneapolis/St. Paul for “Unhitched & Out of Control,” $10,000.

-- Jack R. Howard Award for Television/Cable In-Depth National and International Coverage: Associated Producers Ltd. and HBO Documentary Films for “Tales from the Organ Trade,” $10,000.

-- Jack R. Howard Award for In-Depth Radio Coverage: This American Life for “Harper High School," $10,000.

-- Community Journalism Award: The Portland (Maine) Press Herald and Maine Sunday Telegram for “The Challenge of Our Age," $10,000.

-- Edward J. Meeman Award for Environmental Reporting: Craig Welch and Steve Ringman of The Seattle Times for “Sea Change: The Pacific’s Perilous Turn,” $10,000.

-- William Brewster Styles Award for Business/Economics Reporting: The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists for “Secrecy for Sale: Inside the Global Offshore Money Maze,” $10,000.

-- Walker Stone Award for Editorial Writing: Tony Messenger and Kevin Horrigan of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, $10,000.

-- Commentary Award: Danny Westneat of The Seattle Times, $10,000.

-- Photojournalism Award: John Tlumacki of The Boston Globe for a Boston Marathon portfolio, $10,000.

-- Charles E. Scripps Administrator of the Year Award: Lori Bergen from the Diederich College of Communication, Marquette University, $10,000.

-- Charles E. Scripps Teacher of the Year Award: Cindy Royal of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication, Texas State University, $10,000.


Related News

Email IconGroup 3Facebook IconLinkedIn IconsearchGroupTwitter IconGroup 2YouTube Icon