Winners of 2011 National Press Club Awards named

National Press Club release

The Washington Post won two first-place awards, while the Seattle Times, Salt Lake Tribune, McClatchy Newspapers and The Wall Street Journal won one apiece in the annual National Press Club journalism awards competition. PBS was among the broadcast winners. and the Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting won for their online journalism and outstanding multimedia reporting. The winning entries:

* The Washington Post's Dan Balz won for his analysis of the atmosphere that set the stage for GOP gains in the 2010 elections.

* The Post's Al Kamen won the Gingras Humor Award for his columns on life in the nation's capital, delivered "with a dollop of news."

* The Seattle Times' Michael J. Berens won the Consumer Journalism Award for newspapers with an in-depth examination of Washington state's adult family home system.

* Tommy Burr of the Salt Lake Tribune won for his Washington regional reporting.

* McClatchy Newspapers won the Edwin M. Hood Award for Diplomatic Correspondence with its coverage of corruption and mismanagement in the efforts to rebuild Afghanistan.

* PBS won the Edwin M. Hood Award for its storytelling about the dilemma faced by a cash-strapped U.S. government as it considers how to provide lifesaving drugs to a growing HIV-infected population in Africa.

* ...and more winners.

  • Jim Romenesko

    From 1999 to 2011, Jim Romenesko maintained the Romenesko page for the Poynter Institute, a Florida-based non-profit school for journalists. Poynter hired him in August of 1999, after seeing his, a hobby site he started in May of 1999.


Related News

Email IconGroup 3Facebook IconLinkedIn IconsearchGroupTwitter IconGroup 2YouTube Icon