Women won more individual Pulitzers this year than they have in the last 5

2015’s Pulitzer jury awarded more prizes to individual women in journalism categories than it has since 2010. Five women won individual awards this year, and one woman won as part of a team, according to the Pulitzer site.

Here are 2015’s individual female winners, not including women who won as part of a team or staff:

National Reporting: Carol D. Leonnig of The Washington Post

Feature writing: Diana Marcum of the Los Angeles Times

Commentary: Lisa Falkenberg of the Houston Chronicle

Criticism: Mary McNamara of the Los Angeles Times

Editorial writing: Kathleen Kingsbury of The Boston Globe

While 2014 saw only one female winner in a journalism category (Inga Saffron of the Philadelphia Inquirer), 2013 had no individual winners. There was one individual winner in 2012 and there were three in 2011. The last time there were five female winners was in 2010, and that year the jury also awarded prizes to three women as parts of teams.

Editor's note: We're replaced the graphic. The original graphic was removed due to a formatting issue.


Related News

Email IconGroup 3Facebook IconLinkedIn IconsearchGroupTwitter IconGroup 2YouTube Icon