WSJ, NYT Bloomberg News win multiple Gerald Loeb Awards

The Loebs -- considered the most prestigious award in business journalism -- were presented Tuesday night at a dinner ceremony in New York.

Wall Street Journal winners:

* Julia Angwin, Emily Steel, Scott Thurm and staff win the Online Enterprise category for “What They Know”

* Ben Casselman, Russell Gold, Douglas A. Blackmon, Vanessa O’Connell, Alexandra Berzon and Ana Campoy win (Large Newspapers) for “Deep Trouble,” about the Gulf oil spill

* Tom Lauricella, Peter A. McKay, Scott Patterson, Jenny Strasburg, Robin Sidel, Carolyn Cui and Mary Pilon for “Flash Crash” (Breaking News)

* Kara Swisher wins the Blogging category for “Live-blogging Yahoo Earnings Calls in 2010 (They’re Funny!)”

Bloomberg News winners:

* Amanda Bennett and Charles R. Babcock win the Magazines award for “End-of-Life Warning at $618,616 Makes Me Wonder Was It Worth It”

* Daniel Golden, John Hechinger and John Lauerman win Beat Reporting for “Education Inc.” on for-profit colleges

* David Evans takes the News Services prize for “Profiting From Fallen Soldiers,” about life insurers’ practices.

New York Times winners:

* Paul Krugman wins the Commentary category for his op-ed page columns

* Ron Lieber wins Personal Finance for “Student Debt."

More Loeb Awards and links to the winning entries are here.

  • Jim Romenesko

    From 1999 to 2011, Jim Romenesko maintained the Romenesko page for the Poynter Institute, a Florida-based non-profit school for journalists. Poynter hired him in August of 1999, after seeing his, a hobby site he started in May of 1999.


Related News

Email IconGroup 3Facebook IconLinkedIn IconsearchGroupTwitter IconGroup 2YouTube Icon