April 16, 2014

Society of Professional Journalists

Rebecca Boone of The Associated Press received the Society of Professional Journalists’ public service award for coverage of the Idaho prison system and The Boston Globe staff won deadline reporting honors for its stories on the Boston Marathon bombings, SPJ announced Wednesday.

Also winning in the online investigative reporting category (affiliated) were ABC News and The Center for Public Integrity journalists Matt Mosk, Chris Hamby, Lee Ferran and Brian Ross. ABC News and The Center for Public Integrity are feuding over the sharing of a Pulitzer, which CPI’s Chris Hamby alone won on Monday.

Judges selected 85 winners from 1,800 entries covering a range of media, including newspapers/wire services, magazines, online, television and radio.

Boone and the Globe both won in the newspapers/wire services large daily circulation (100,001 and over) category.

Public service journalism awards also went to María Pérez of El Nuevo Herald (daily circulation 50,001 to 100,000 category) for stories on plastic surgery; Joe O’Sullivan and Daniel Simmons-Ritchie of Rapid City Journal (daily circulation 1 to 50,000) for reporting on South Dakota’s uranium mining; and Terri Lobdell, Jocelyn Dong and Chris Kenrick of the Palo Alto Weekly (non-daily publication) for coverage of a school district’s “dysfunctional” response to bullying.

The Boston Herald staff also won a deadline reporting award (50,001 to 100,000 circulation category) for its coverage of the marathon bombings and the manhunt that followed. The Washington Times received an award for its coverage of the Navy Yard killings (daily circulation 1 to 50,000) and, in the non-daily publication category, Samantha Tisdel Wright of The Watch Newspaper received recognition for deadline reporting in covering the attempt to save two miners in Ouray, Colo., from carbon monoxide poisoning.

Winners in the investigative reporting category include:

• The Wall Street Journal staff for stories detailing how finance professionals use key data, including information requested through the Freedom of Information Act, to gain advantages in the market. (Daily circulation 100,001-plus)

• Dave Philipps of the Colorado Springs Gazette for an investigation about soldiers, some wounded in combat, who were kicked out of the service without benefits for misconduct. (Daily circulation 50,001 to 100,000)

• Nathan Fenno of The Washington Times for stories on concussions in college football. (Daily circulation 1 to 50,000)

• Timothy Cwiek of the Philadelphia Gay News for coverage of the Nizah Morris homicide case.


The full list of award winners and links to the works honored are available on the SPJ awards website. An awards banquet is scheduled on June 20 at The National Press Club in Washington, D.C.

Support high-integrity, independent journalism that serves democracy. Make a gift to Poynter today. The Poynter Institute is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization, and your gift helps us make good journalism better.

More News

Back to News