Ken Hackman, Mickey Osterreicher get NPPA awards

January 21, 2014
Category: Uncategorized


The National Press Photographers Association announced Ken Hackman and Mickey H. Osterreicher as the winners of their Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award on Friday.

The 2013 Joseph A. Sprague Memorial Award winners are Ken Hackman, known by many as “The Godfather” of military photojournalism and the longtime director of the Military Photographer of the Year program, and Mickey H. Osterreicher, NPPA’s general counsel who was a veteran newspaper and television photographer in Buffalo, NY, before he discovered his passion for protecting the legal rights of visual journalists.

The award, which was first established in 1949, “recognizes individuals who advance and elevate photojournalism by their conduct, initiative, leadership, and skill, or for unusual service or achievement beneficial to photojournalism and technological advances.”