April 29, 2015

Mirror Awards

Former New York Times columnist David Carr will receive a posthumous award in June recognizing the impact of his career on the media industry.

The distinction will be granted at the Mirror Awards, an annual celebration of journalism about the media industry put on by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications. The i-3 award — shorthand for “impact, innovation and influence” — goes to path breakers in media circles that have reshaped the industry:

The i-3 award is given to individuals or organizations that have made a profound impact on the media landscape or have captured the public’s imagination about the potential or importance of the media in a unique way. Past recipients include Walt Mossberg and Kara Swisher, co-founders of Re/code (2014); the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation (2012); Dennis Crowley ’98 and Naveen Selvadurai, co-founders of Foursquare (2011); Twitter (2010); Obama for America New Media Department/Blue State Digital (2009); and CNN/YouTube (2008).

New York Times Executive Editor Dean Baquet will give a speech recognizing Carr at the ceremony.

Carr, who died earlier this year from complications related to lung cancer, won Mirror Awards in the best commentary category in 2007 and 2009, according to a release from the awards. Carr has been honored by other media organizations since his death. The Montclair Film Festival created an award in his honor, and he was a finalist for the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for Commentary.

Support high-integrity, independent journalism that serves democracy. Make a gift to Poynter today. The Poynter Institute is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization, and your gift helps us make good journalism better.
Benjamin Mullin is the managing editor of Poynter.org. He previously reported for Poynter as a staff writer, Google Journalism Fellow and Naughton Fellow, covering journalism…
Benjamin Mullin

More News

Back to News